Thor is a Ther

Will Thor be called Ther now?

Originally appeared on the blog, C3

It’s no secret that I’m a huge geek. I own both the Playstation 4 and Nintendo Wii U. I spend more time playing on those than I probably should. I read copious amounts of comic books each week. I host a podcast devoted to discussing everything geek culture. I even subscribe to Loot Crate. I don’t know if there is a better term than “geek” but whatever it is, I’m probably it.

Hence the reason I’m writing about Thor. Or Ther. Therita? I don’t know what to call her but she isn’t Thor.

This week, Marvel announced that a change was coming to the Thor universe. Thor has messed up big time and been deemed unworthy to wield the mighty hammer, Mjolnir. Stripped of his thunder powers (because they apparently derived from his hammer?) and title (wait, Thor was a title, not his name?), a new female Asgardian is coming along to wield the hammer and title of Thor. Thor will still be around but this Thor will also be around fighting baddies with the hammer. So, we’ll have Thor and Thor…does that make a whole lot of sense?

Let’s be honest, it doesn’t make sense.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for female lead heroes. I think the fact that Black Widow has her own comic book is totally rad. I think it’s good for Marvel to release an all female X-Men book (even if it isn’t really that spectacular). I think the fact that the majority of the characters announced for Nintendo’s upcoming title Hyrule Warriors have been female.

But to take a character like Thor, a character who is part of a religion and has a long history at Marvel, and shoe-horn Thor out of his comic, changing his name to mean a title and forcing a female into the new role of Thor doesn’t really make a lot of sense and seems, to be honest, extremely lazy.

Marvel isn’t diversifying the character. If they were diversifying, they’d put some of those creative talents into making a brand new character, capable of standing next to heroes like Thor and Captain America and Spider-Man. Maybe even Deadpool. It isn’t consistent. It’s confusing. It’s jarring. It’s disrespectful.

I definitely plan on picking up the first few issues because I’m genuinely curious to see what Marvel is up to. For all I know, this could be a Dan Slott “Superior Spider-Man” all over again. But I’m not happy about it. Just like I wasn’t happy about Amazing Spider-Man #700.

Someone better let Chris Hemsworth know, though. Otherwise, future Thor movies are about to get really awkward for him.

Then again, if there’s one constant in comic books, it’s this: changes like this never stay and I’m sure it won’t be long until we see the real Thor being Thor again.

 

What do you think about the Thor news? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

