Stop Playing the Same Game

Whether it’s Call of Duty, Destiny or Watch Dogs, at the end of the day, it’s all the same game.

Written by Logan Sharp

I haven’t finished Watch Dogs yet. Truth be told, I probably won’t play the game for awhile. I’ve gotten tired of playing Call of Duty and I even got bored of the Destiny First Look Alpha after a day of playing. Don’t get me wrong, they are all fun games. But I can only play a game where my main objective is go to this place, shoot a gun, get a reward and move on for so much. The same lather, rinse, repeat is mundane and it’s a common theme I see in many games now.

It’s left me asking, “Where are the unique experiences games once stood for”? There’s a reason No Man’s Sky is acquiring so much hype right now. It’s different. It’s unique. It’s, dare I say, innovative. We all want to play something new and we don’t even know it. If you’re yearning for a new kind of game to play, here’s a few suggestions that I personally have had a blast with.

Entwined (PS4)

Entwined1

To be completely honest, I didn’t expect much from Entwined. Yet I was pleasantly surprised once I downloaded the game and started playing. The game treated me to a relaxing, nay, soothing soundtrack and beautiful visuals. The game has hints of Rez, Guitar Hero and Journey. Each level is like a beautiful love story that you’re in control of progressing by means of collecting orbs. Each orb that is collected affects the music which means that if you miss one, or several, the music stops abruptly and the two characters get pushed further apart. It’s a unique challenge of hand-eye coordination and quick reflexes that provide a difficult yet rewarding play style. You could spend $10 on far worse than this game but I’d recommend it to anyone.

Transistor (PS4, PC)

transistor_red

I honestly have nothing bad to say about Transistor. Ever since I played Bastion, I had always looked forward to Supergiant Games’ next project. Transistor does not disappoint with impressive visuals, killer soundtrack and a strategic battle system that gets insane as the game progresses. The story can be a little hard to follow but it wraps up nicely. It’s funky, weird, beautiful and a very addicting experience.

Shovel Knight (Wii U, 3DS, PC)

Shovel-Knight-2

If you’re in the mood for a more classic, retro kind of game, look no further than Shovel Knight. Sure, it sounds like a weird title but don’t let it fool you: this is everything we loved about 8bit games in a nutshell. Knights, goblins, ninjas, skull monsters, coins and a whole bunch of other rad. The character’s main weapon is a shovel and his attacks range from jumping on the shovel like a pogo-stick to dropping anchors on enemies, the game offers a different kind of experience but one that is sure to be filled with nostalgia, humor and fun.

Those are a few of my suggestions. What about you? Are you playing a game that is unique and different from the norm? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

