The Lego Movie Review

Written by Derek Smith

WARNING: MINOR SPOILERS TO FOLLOW

When my wife and I went to go see The Lego Movie, I honestly wasn’t expecting very much. I didn’t have anything against the movie or the Lego franchise by any means. I grew up playing with Legos. I have even been playing Lego Marvel Super Heroes on my PS4 (and it’s awesome). With that being said, I know how delightfully entertaining Legos have been, but without seeing them on the silver screen, I didn’t want to get my hopes up. Thankfully, The Lego Movie surprised me and charmed me yet again into an enjoyable experience.

The movie introduces you to the main character, Emmett, who is an ordinary Lego figurine that fits in with the crowd, working construction in his hometown. Soon afterwards, he is thrown head first into an age-old prophecy telling of the end of the world, and he holds the key to their survival. Emmett learns that he must become a “Master Builder”, someone who can take anything from his surroundings to build any structure that he may need to accomplish his mission, playing on the fact that they are all Legos and not human beings. From a movie critiques perspective, I couldn’t help but notice all the clichés that were obvious scene in and scene out. However, Lego’s ability to humor its audience played on these said clichés to successfully poke fun at todays’ society. It was even more enjoyable when these Lego characters would subtly make fun of their own franchise with their numerous and diverse toy lines.

Visually speaking, the movie was excellent. The world of Legos were brought to life in creative ways that bring out the kid inside you. Everything that happened in the movie reacted as if it was a Lego motion capture video that you’d see on Youtube, except with Hollywood visual quality. The voice acting was top notch and perfectly meshed with the playful style that the Lego franchise has always been accustomed to using. Lord Business, played by Will Ferrell, is everything you’d expect from a cheesy bad guy: Aged, powerful, arrogant, desire for world destruction. But what made it all work together so well was the vocal cleverness of Will Ferrell. He made the character fun to watch with his sarcastic phrases and humor.

Image

Although, one of, if not the largest standout of the packs was easily Will Arnett’s Batman. Batman got a lot of screen time and capitalized completely, from hilarious lines to the sighs and rolling at the eyes from any time he disagreed with the groups plan to stop Lord Business. This worked both for and against the Lego movie in some extent though. Batman was hilarious, but I feel as if though he stole the spotlight at times from Emmett who was struggling with the events and scenes that were crucial to his character development. I also think some of Bats countless lines could have been easily dished off to the other cameos in the movie, from Robin Hood, Michelangelo (TMNT) and others. As a movie and comic fan, I was severely disappointed when Wonder Woman, who was voiced by the highly popular Cobie Smulders, barely got a half a sentence in the entire movie. To me, it seemed like a waste of talent when any other voice actor could’ve pulled off her limited part of the script.

One thing I did not expect was how emotionally moving the last 30 minutes of the movie would be, where the movie viewer is faced with a reality check that does its part in hitting home. At that point in the movie, I was casually following the story without much thought because of the consistent jokes and playfulness of the movie’s style, only to be faced with a unique plot twist that surprisingly moved me. Without spoiling it, it was a message that was relatable to both kids and adults for two connecting reasons. I was impressed with the cleverness of the storytelling as the movie wrapped up to a close. For a movie that was about toys for kids on the surface, it also had something to offer for adults.

Overall, The Lego Movie was a delight to see. Even though I have my minor griefs with it, The Lego Movie was still a wonderful experience that I highly recommend for anyone of any age.

I give The Lego Movie an 8.5 out of 10

2 thoughts on “The Lego Movie Review”

  1. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this movie. Normally, I’d probably never go see something like this, but you got me interested! Nice review. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

